Sunday, February 04, 2007

New Music for January

Just a bit behind here. These CDs were added to my play list a couple of weeks ago and I am just now getting around to posting about it. I've got to quick my day job. Oh well. Meanwhile, I am just about caught up on the 2006 releases with this next batch ofCDs. There are so many this time that I'm going to have to keep the descriptions short.

But before we talk about what was added last month, let's talk about what is about to be added..

Patty Griffin - Children Running Through (2007) www.pattygriffin.com
Don't you love it when a great artist releases a CD. It's been months since the release was first announced, and you didn't think you could wait. And suddenly the day is here, and you slip out of work early, or take some extra time during lunch to pick up the CD at the store. You insert the CD into your player and for the first time you hear it. There is nothing like that feeling for me. Unfortunately, there is no guarantee that the CD will be as good as you hoped. Typically, I am mildly disappointed. But when it's right, when the music is as good or even better than you hoped, I get this huge smile on my face and it stays there for days. I am still smiling. In Patty's new CD, due out Tuesday, she has placed the focus on her singing for the first time. And although none of us had any doubt she could sing with the best of them, when it is the focus of the album, you end up with goosebumps throughout the dozen songs. Maybe what is so amazing is that it isn't just one style. in "Stay on the Ride", an early favorite of mine, Patty does what can only be called her "Aretha" vocals. That song is followed by "Trapeze", a classic country/folk song. Both are passionate and powerful, and you would never expect to hear them both on the same CD, let alone next to each other. But Patty pulls it off. It is really no surprise I suppose. She has been mixing it up since her 2nd CD, "Flaming Red". But, you will still may not be prepared for just how good she sounds here. Buy this CD and see her in concert (her tour starts this month). This CD is a very early leader in what should be an exciting year. New CDs are also coming out from Lucinda Williams and Brandi Carslile (T Bone Burnett produced). And later this year expect the return of Crowded House with a tour and new CD.

Okay, on with the list...

Shawn Hlookoff - Both Side (2006) www.hlookoff.com
A well produced, slick recording. If this were a big label release, I would expect to see him go far.
Pernice Brothers - Live a Little (2006) www.pernicebrothers.com
One of the top releases from 2006. If you love good strong pop rock, do not even hesitate... buy this.
Peter Himmelman - Imperfect World (2005) www.peterhimmelman.com
I love Peter Himmelman. His singing makes you feel like he is reaching deep down in his soul as he tries to deal with the mysteries of life. Excellent CD.
The Ditty Bops - Moon Over the Freeway (2006) www.thedittybops.com
Not since Dan Hicks has a band made swing so much fun. They expand their sound on this CD... and it works. And you must see them live.
Ray Lamontagne - Till The Sun Turns Black (2006) www.raylamontagne.com
The critics have been mixed about this CD, but I loved it. It is a fragile, soft (most of the time), delicate CD that envelops you and doesn't let go.
Dar Williams - My Better Self (2005)
Another strong CD from Dar.
Gram Rabbit - Cultivation (2006) www.gramrabbit.com
Such a wonderfully strange and quirky band. Their first CD had a very 80's sound with a demented twist. You can see a lot of growth in this CD which include some of their best songs yet.
Los Lobos - The Town and the City (2006) www.loslobos.org
You can never go wrong buying a Los Lobos CD. No one mixes cultures and influences like them. All that and they always keeping your feet tapping.

I also added the following CDs:
Glen Phillips - Mr Lemons (2006)
Josh Ritter - The Animal Years (2006) www.joshritter.com
...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead - So Divided (2006)
Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon - Sixty Six Steps (2006)
Pete Yorn - You and Me Acoustic (2006)

Ane Brun - A Temporary Dive (2006)
Charlie Sexteon and Shannon McNally - Southside Sessions (2006) www.backporchrecords.com
Nada Surf - The Weight is a Gift (2006) www.nadasurf.com
Claire Small - Ledger (2006) www.clairsmall.com

Music Hall Link - Cowboy Junkies 4-1-1996 listen